Sesame Pork

IMG_1440

Hi there, friends!

The recipe I am sharing today is for a YUMMY dinner dish that is also quick and simple. I had this meal ready to serve in about 30 minutes and I was not in a hurry. I just happened to notice how quick it came together when I was ready to serve.

For the meat, I just used thin cut, boneless pork chops. I usually have them on hand in the freezer because they are relatively inexpensive and thaw quickly for fast, frugal meals.

I chose to serve the pork on rice noodles because I had a package in the pantry. However, I think I am going to try using plain ramen noodles (minus the seasoning packet) or brown rice next time. I am sure it would be great on pasta or a bed of veggies as well. This is one of those dishes that you can change up in many different ways to match your own taste or pantry contents.

Here’s how I made it…

Sesame Pork

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1-2 pounds boneless, thin cut pork chops, cut into strips
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 heaping teaspoon sriracha sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • sesame seeds and sliced scallions for garnish

* Optional- 1 tablespoon cornstarch + 1 tablespoon water stirred together (for thickening the sauce)

Directions:

  • Heat canola and sesame oils in large skillet over medium heat.
  • Add pork strips and cook for 7-8 minutes, stirring halfway through.
  • Meanwhile, make sauce by whisking remaining ingredients together in a bowl. Mix cornstarch and water together in separate small bowl.
  • After pork is cooked through, add sauce to pork and stir to mix. Cover and cook over medium-low heat for 5 minutes.
  • If sauce is too thin, add small amounts of the cornstarch mixture until sauce reached desired thickness.
  • Serve over rice or noodles.

IMG_1438IMG_1440

Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

