An Easy Way to Shuck Corn

IMG_1424 - CopyHi there, friends! I hope y’all had a great Independence Day!

We had a great long weekend spending time with my “adopted” daughter and her new girlfriend and going to our local fireworks show. Our fire department (which is largely volunteer) does an amazing job fundraising and executing an amazing display every year!

IMG_1652

I am sure that many of you served corn on the cob for your celebrations. Corn on the cob is one of my absolute favorite foods. As a child I loved to shuck the corn for my mom and then wait impatiently for it to boil to perfection. My love for corn on the cob has not changed with the passing years, but my love of shucking the corn definitely has! I am sure it has something to do with having to fix an entire meal instead of just helping Mom with a simple task. 🙂

For years, I have done it the traditional way…over the sink or trash can, leaf by leaf, string by endless string, until it was ready to go. Then, a couple of weeks ago, a friend gave us a scad of fresh picked ears. There was too much for us to eat within a few days, so I needed to freeze about a half dozen ears. With other chores waiting to get done, I did not have a lot of time to spend shucking corn, so I decided to try something different.

It worked wonderfully! It was much easier and took less time than traditional shucking. Plus, it completely prepped the corn for freezing!

Here’s how I did it…

First, I cut each end of the ear with a sharp knife…IMG_1427

I then used the knife to cut a slit through the leaves, lengthwise…IMG_1428

Finally, I was able to pull all of the leaves and most of the strings all at once away from the ear…IMG_1429

Voila! Fresh, yummy ears of corn ready to freeze, boil, or grill!IMG_1424 - Copy

Enjoy! ❤

2 thoughts on “An Easy Way to Shuck Corn

Leave a Reply

