Cornbread Waffles

IMG_0914

Hi there, friends!

One of the most popular dishes I have seen recently is waffles. From chicken and waffles to dessert waffles to the more traditional breakfast waffles, social media sites have been filled with many different ways to serve waffles.

And…I think it’s great! I have even posted a couple of different types of waffles with A Sundae for Your Sunday and Coconut Almond Waffles. Not only are waffles versatile, they are easy and inexpensive to prepare.

For this recipe, I did not have to look far. I absolutely LOVE cornbread, so I thought I would just try my classic recipe in my waffle maker. Not only did it work, the kitchen smelled wonderful while they were “waffling”.

These waffles would be a great base for chili, baked beans, and anything else that you eat with cornbread. Just take a waffle and scoop some of your favorite chili on top and top off with your favorite toppings. Yum!

You could even use them in place of your bread with a hearty soup, or serve them with some chorizo and egg for breakfast. The ideas are unlimited!

Here’s my recipe…

Cornbread Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup canola oil

Directions:

  • Stir all ingredients until well blended.
  • Prepare in waffle maker according to manufacturer’s directions.

*Makes approximately 3 full waffles.

IMG_0916

Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

