Chocolate-Chip Banana Bars

IMG_1066

Hi there friends!! Happy Summer! School is out and I am ready to blog!

So, let’s get started!

Look at what I discovered one morning on the kitchen counter…

IMG_1070

Yep. Some very overripe bananas. We have all had a bunch of bananas get overripe at some point or another. However, this bunch was different. When I bought them, just a day and a half earlier, they were very green, so I figured we had a few days to eat them. Hmmm… what made them ripen so fast?

My conclusion? They were sitting on the counter right beside a cantaloupe also waiting to ripen. Apparently, ripening magic happened overnight and both the bananas and cantaloupe were overripe by morning. Unfortunately, the melon could not be saved (ugh! I hate throwing food away), but I knew a gazillion ways to use the bananas. 🙂

IMG_1085
Tip: I use my pastry blender to quickly mash bananas.

I knew that I did not want to make banana bread this time, and I did not have the necessary ingredients for banana pudding, so I opted for a banana bar cookie with dark chocolate chips. YUM! These bars are great for anyone that loves bananas!

IMG_1069

Here’s how I made them…

Chocolate-Chip Banana Bars

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 large bananas, mashed
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and spray a 9×13 baking pan with cooking spray.
  • Cream butter and brown sugar. Add egg, vanilla, and bananas and mix well.
  • In separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add slowly to banana mixture and mix until well incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Spread mixture evenly in baking pan.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes or until done.
  • Cool and cut into squares.

*These taste great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top! 🙂

IMG_1066

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

