Shield’s Date Garden and Date Shakes

IMG_6652

Hi there friends!  I hope you had a great weekend!

I have a question for you. Have you ever had a date shake?  No, I don’t mean a shake while you’re on a date.  I mean a shake made from dates. 🙂  If you haven’t, you’re not alone.  I had never had one until last month.  Oh boy!  I can’t even begin to tell you what I was missing out on!  Even my boys, who don’t really like to even look at dates, slurped down as much as they could.

There are quite a few places in the Coachella Valley to get date shakes, but Shield’s Date Garden is the #1 place to go!.  Although we’ve passed by many times, we had never been able to stop by until my birthday outing last month.  And I can’t wait to go back!

Since it was the beginning of July and the temperature was about 113 degrees, we didn’t walk through the gardens.  We did, however, stroll through the shop, which was full of a million kinds of dates (yep, I counted) 🙂 and  watched the video about the history of the Shields family and the growing of dates in the area.

IMG_6651

IMG_6647

After choosing a package of dates to use for my Sweet Peanut Butter Dates, we ordered a date shake to try.  Oh my goodness!  I had no idea it would be so sweet.  While I love dates, I had no clue that they would be so yummy in shakes.  To make it even “sweeter”, the shake is so large that the four of us shared ONE and couldn’t finish the last bit of it.  Definitely a bargain!

IMG_6649

I will update after we’ve gone back to tour the beautiful gardens!  For now, here’s a link to their website https://www.shieldsdategarden.com/default.aspx.

Have a great week!

IMG_6654Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

