Cake Mix Pistachio Muffins

IMG_6784

Hi there friends!

Happy weekend!  There are only a few more weekends left of summer.  As much as I love summer, I am definitely ready for fall.  Maybe that’s because our fall here in the desert is much like summer for a lot of other folks.  It’s the time of year when we can FINALLY turn the air conditioning off, open the windows and get back outside.  It may sound silly, but out here we get excited when we start to see temperatures under 100 degrees on the weather forecast. 🙂

One of the other things that I love about fall is BAKING!!  Although I bake all year, I love baking in the fall.  The only obstacle I occasionally run into is having enough time to bake.  It seems, for our household, that fall is usually quite busy, so I love quick and simple recipes that I can fall (yes, pun intended) back on to make sure that my family isn’t neglected when it comes to baked goods.

IMG_6776

This recipe begins with an item that I am always sure to have on hand in the pantry…cake mix.  No, I haven’t made a cake solely from a cake mix in several years, but they are definitely the start of many my cakes and other desserts.   There are so many yummy recipes that start from a cake mix that I don’t know if I’ll ever stop finding ways to use them.  I make sure to pick up quite a few boxes when my supermarket marks them down to 69 cents.  I just refuse to pay regular price ($1.99).

One of the other ingredients in this recipe that I always make sure to have in my pantry is instant pudding.  My tip:  Purchase the store brand.  It is about half the price and I’ve never noticed a difference in taste or texture.

For this recipe, I decided to try one of the less popular flavors of instant pudding, pistachio.  Even though I used two boxes of pudding, the flavor is not overwhelming.  In fact, it is quite subtle.  While they are very yummy with a dusting of powdered sugar, you could always make a vanilla buttercream frosting and turn these muffins into cupcakes. 🙂

IMG_6777

Here’s how I made them…

Cake Mix Pistachio Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 2 small boxes pistachio instant pudding
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • powdered sugar

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line muffin tin with liners or spray well with cooking spray.
  • Combine all ingredients, except powdered sugar, in mixer bowl.  Mix until well combined, about 2 minutes.
  • Fill muffin cups 2/3 full.
  • Bake for approximately 15 minutes or until done.
  • Cool completely and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

IMG_6786

Enjoy! ❤

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cake Mix Pistachio Muffins

Leave a Reply

