Crock-Pot Steak Tacos with Grilled Onions and Jalapenos

IMG_6781

Hi there friends!

It’s my favorite ‘dinner day’ of the week…Taco Tuesday!

I made these tacos a few weeks ago and they were YUMMY!

I had one package of flank steak left in the freezer and I forgot to take it out that morning to thaw so I could marinate it for a few hours before cooking.  Have you ever had that happen?  I do.  More than I would care to admit.

I have learned that if I remember by early afternoon that I can salvage my plan for dinner.  I just have to make a few adjustments.  These are the times when my handy-dandy Crock-Pot comes to my rescue.  I just figure out and/or invent a recipe that will work with the frozen meat and let the Crock-Pot do it’s job.  My Crock-Pot does an amazing job of defrosting and slow cooking frozen meat to perfection by the time I’m ready to serve dinner.

I know I could defrost in the microwave, but it seems that no matter how carefully I defrost, some of the meat gets cooked while the rest is still frozen. :/  Maybe one day I’ll master the art of defrosting frozen meat in the microwave, but, for now, I’ll rely on my Crock-Pot.

Here’s how my Crock-Pot saved Taco Tuesday…

Crock-Pot Steak Tacos with Grilled Onions and Jalapenos

Ingredients:

For Crock-Pot:

  • 1 pound flank steak
  • 2 tablespoons Homemade Taco Seasoning or 1 envelope prepackaged taco seasoning
  • 2/3 cup water

For Grilled Onions and Jalapenos:

  • 1-2 large onions, sliced
  • 3-6 jalapenos, sliced
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

For Crock-Pot:

  • Place steak, taco seasoning and water into Crock-Pot.
  • Cook on high for 4 hours.
  • Slice steak into strips when ready to serve.

For Grilled Onions and Jalapenos:

  • Heat skillet over medium heat.
  • Add a small amount of olive oil to skillet, then add onions, jalapenos, salt and pepper and toss to coat with oil.
  • Cook until desired tenderness.
  • Layer on top of steak in prepared tortilla.

 

*Add desired taco toppings such as cheese, tomatoes, cilantro, lime, etc.

IMG_6779

IMG_6782

Enjoy! ❤

4 thoughts on “Crock-Pot Steak Tacos with Grilled Onions and Jalapenos

Leave a Reply

