Shoo-Fly Pie

IMG_5940

Hi there friends!

I hope you all had a great weekend!  Hubby, the boys and I were able to spend some of the afternoon and have dinner with my mother-in-law on Saturday.  We had a nice time and it was a little cooler where she lives, which was very much appreciated at this point of the summer. 🙂

Unfortunately, I was unable to snap some pictures of  the dishes that I made for the dinner, so I’ll have to remake them at some point (oh, darn) and post those recipes later.  For today’s post, I pulled a picture from my saved pictures of a pie that I made for ‘Pie Day’ back in March.

Yes, the name of the pie really is Shoo-Fly Pie.  I know it sounds goofy to anyone that wasn’t raised in my part of the world.  Why is it called Shoo-Fly Pie?  The answer is quite simple.  The filling is made from ingredients that would attract almost every fly in the universe, molasses and brown sugar.

IMG_6767

It is a very simple, Pennsylvania Dutch recipe from my Pennsylvania Dutch Cookbook.  For those of you that may not be familiar with the cuisine, Pennsylvania Dutch cooking and baking typically use very simple and tasty ingredients that most of us already have in our pantries or refrigerators.  Definitely helpful for the frugal grocery budget! 🙂

I made the following changes to the recipe…

  • I divided the recipe in half because I only needed one pie for my family.
  • I used dark molasses while the original recipe calls for light molasses.  The dark is less sweet and gives the flavor a little more “bite”.

Here’s how I made it…

Shoo-Fly Pie

Ingredients:

1 (1 layer) unbaked pie crust ½ cup molasses
¾ cup flour ¼ cup hot water
½ cup packed brown sugar ¼ teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons butter

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees and place pie crust in pie dish.
  • Combine the flour and sugar in a bowl and cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or two forks until the mixture resembles crumbs. Set aside.
  • Whisk together the molasses, hot water and baking soda. Pour into the pie crust.
  • Sprinkle the crumb mixture on top of the liquid mixture.
  • Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for 20 minutes longer or until filling is firm.

Make sure to keep covered after cooling, so you don’t have to ‘shoo’ the flies away! 🙂

IMG_5940

Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

