My “Ritz-y” Pineapple-Coconut Dream

IMG_6748

Hi there friends!!

I hope you’re having another great summer weekend!  It’s been a little on the warm side here in the desert, so I’ve been trying to make as many cool meals and treats as possible.

I found the idea for this dessert on Pinterest while looking for something to do with some of the numerous boxes of Ritz crackers that I was able to purchase for mere pennies thanks to a great sale and awesome coupons.  I have made desserts with graham cracker crumbs many times, but had never thought to use Ritz crackers before.  I’ve been accustomed to using cracker crumbs for savory dishes.  But then, I’m always up to trying something new. 🙂

IMG_6701

I do have to confess something about my experience making this yummy dessert.  I totally messed it up!!  I read the ingredients on the recipe wrong, or should I say, not thoroughly.  I made a mistake on the amount of whipped topping that was needed for the recipe.  I realized my mistake as I was spreading the mixture on to the crust.  I went back to the recipe because it just “didn’t look right” and discovered that I had only used half of the amount needed.  To make it worse, I didn’t have another tub.  Ugh!! 😐

That’s when Hubby came to my rescue!  I texted him a picture of what I needed and he dropped by the supermarket and picked it up on his way home for his lunch hour.  I have a great guy, don’t I?  Since he knew it was for his dessert, I don’t think he would have said no. 😉

With the second half of the whipped topping in hand, I had to figure out how to fix my mistake.  At that point, the only thing I could do was turn a single layer dessert into a two layer dessert.

And guess what!  It worked!  Whew!

The following recipe is for how I made the dessert (the mistake).  If you would like to have it the way it is usually made, just mix the second half of the whipped topping in with the rest of the filling ingredients.  Trust me, it’s going to be yummy either way!

Here you go…

Ritz-y Pineapple-Coconut Dream

Ingredients:

2 sleeves Ritz crackers, crushed 1 large box instant vanilla pudding
½ cup butter, melted 1 (16 ounce) tub whipped topping, thawed, divided in half
1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple in heavy syrup Toasted coconut

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, stir cracker crumbs and butter together until well combined. Spread in bottom of 13×9 cake pan.
  • In large bowl, combine pineapple (with syrup), vanilla pudding and ½ (8 ounces) of the whipped topping. Stir until well combined.  Spread on top of crust.
  • Spread remaining whipped topping on top of filling and sprinkle coconut on top.
  • Refrigerate for 4-6 hours before serving.

IMG_6715

Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

