Frugal Friday – Wall Decor on the Cheap

IMG_6682

Hi there friends!

It’s Frugal Friday and I’m so excited!  I’ve been waiting for a Frugal Friday post to share this with you!

A couple of weeks ago, Hubby and the boys took me out for the day to celebrate my birthday.  It was an awesome day!  I was instructed by all three of my guys that it was my day and that I was to choose where we went and what we did.  I have some pretty great men in my life, don’t I? ❤

One of the things I chose to do was to take a gander through Hobby Lobby.  We have to drive at least an hour and a half to the closest location, so it’s a treat that only happens every so often. Since I don’t get to shop there on a regular basis, I have a very specific method of how go about a Hobby Lobby visit…

  1. This is always the first step…shop the clearance section.  This usually takes most of my time because they always seem to have great stuff on clearance.  I’m talking about aisles and aisles of clearance with a wide variety of items and they don’t hold back on clearance prices.  My discounts on this trip varied from 66% – 90%.  Yes!  That says NINETY percent.
  2. After the clearance shopping, I check the items on the weekly sale.  This is where I’ll get something that isn’t seasonal and most likely won’t go on clearance.  That is, if I haven’t spent all of my small budget on clearance items.  Lol. 🙂
  3. Lastly, I’ll look at the other items I like and hope they’re on sale or clearance the next trip.

I know it sounds like a process, but honestly, I do this in most stores, not just Hobby Lobby.  It has become second nature to me and it has saved me a lot of money.  I do have one major rule- I don’t buy anything that I don’t need or won’t use.  Basically, I don’t just buy something because it’s “a great deal”.

This Hobby Lobby trip was definitely a birthday treat!!  My total (with 8% sales tax) was $20.58 for all the items pictured below.

IMG_6681
A couple cute wall hangings for my boys’ room.  Both were 90% off!
IMG_6684
A little addition for Hubby’s grill area.  With the 66% discount, it was only $3.06.
IMG_6683
Cute little shelf block.  I love when I find anything with the “Q” for our last name!  Ninety percent off just sweetens the deal.
IMG_6682
A nice, large picture for our bedroom.  Regularly $39.99. but it came home with me for only $8.00!
IMG_6685
And the last little trinket.  I just couldn’t pass on the ice cream cone!  For $1.70, it was less expensive than most real ice cream cones. 🙂

Remember, always check the clearance section if you enjoy saving your hard-earned money.  You may not always find something, but it doesn’t hurt to check and sometimes you may hit “pay dirt”!

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

