My Homemade Coconut-Almond-Chocolate Bar

IMG_6517

Hi there friends!!

I hope y’all have had a great weekend.  I’m finally getting around to reading and enjoying all of the new posts on WordPress.  I love reading all of your posts and keeping up with my blogging community!

All my reading is caught up and now it’s time for me to share an idea with you. 🙂

This idea is a bi-product of an item that I shared with you last weekend.  After I was finished making my Peanut Butter – Graham Chocolate Bars , I had a small amount of melted chocolate left that I didn’t want to discard.  Seriously, who would want to waste melted chocolate?  But, what to do with it?  I guess I could have just eaten it with the spoon.  Lol. 🙂

Instead of senselessly just eating the leftover chocolate, I had a brainstorm.  I could make a candy bar for Hubby. ❤  That way, I didn’t feel guilty about eating too many sweets and I had something special for my hardworking guy when he got home.  Win-win!

The next step was to figure out what I would add to the chocolate.  I wanted to make it more than just a plain chocolate bar.  This is when the small amount of sliced almonds, left over from sundaes, and a small amount of flaked coconut, left over from some baked goods, came in quite handy.  And…this is why I don’t throw away small amounts of ingredients that are left over from their original purpose.  Instead of “tossing” them in the garbage, I toss them in a small zipper bag and store them in a bin in my freezer.

So, I had the chocolate and additions ready to go, but I didn’t have a candy bar mold.  Or, did I?

Well, it wasn’t called a candy mold, and it wasn’t fancy by any means, but I did have something just waiting in my “Tupperware Cabinet” that would work for sure.  A used butter tub.  Yep.  While I store leftovers and freezer meals in better quality containers, I usually keep a couple of this kind of container around for projects for Hubby and the kids.  This time it was for Mom’s project. 🙂  I love that they are making the new tubs in a rectangular shape with rounded corners.  I know they did this for better refrigerator storage, which I love, but it makes a great candy bar shape as well!

After just a couple of minutes, I had everything I needed, so here’s what I did…

  1. Layered some coconut in the bottom of the butter tub.
  2. Poured the melted chocolate on top of the coconut.
  3. Sprinkled the sliced almonds on top of the chocolate.IMG_6509
  4. Placed the tub in the freezer until the bar was solid.
  5. Removed the bar from the tub and placed in a zipper bag and stored it in the refrigerator.

So simple and yummy!  And, made from little leftover bits from here and there. 🙂

Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

