Zatarain’s Tacos?

IMG_6331

Hi there friends!

It’s Taco Tuesday and I have a pretty “off the wall” idea for tacos…Zatarain’s Tacos.

“What?”, you say.    Just what is a Zatarain’s Taco?

Well, it’s a taco that is filled with Zatarain’s Jambalaya filling.  And, to top off the “off the wall” idea, it’s served in one of those store-bought, Old El Paso hard taco shells.  Yep, the ones that resemble a large, round corn chip folded in half.

If you haven’t stopped reading by now, I do understand your doubt about this one!  It is definitely a different (if not odd) idea.  BUT, they are delicious!

Where did I come up with this one?  Quite some time ago, I was in a hurry to get dinner on the table after working in the yard all day.  Of course, it was one of those times that I didn’t have much of a selection in the pantry or fridge.  I figured I would just make the Zatarain’s (one of my last minute staples), but then I noticed that I had a box of the hard shells in the pantry that I had gotten for 65¢ on sale (with a coupon).  Well, I figured I may as well give it a try…

I’m sure glad I did!!  Now they are one of our favorite “go to” meals for busy days when I haven’t planned anything else.

I just fill the shell with a little Zatarains, hot sauce, shredded cheese and mixed greens and I have a yummy taco.  Add a green salad with lime-cilantro dressing and you’ve got a quick, tasty meal.

ADDED BONUS:  It’s so inexpensive!  Much cheaper than fast food tacos and you can use healthier ingredients.

There’s no recipe for this idea, but here’s what you’ll need…

IMG_6327

  • 1 box Zatarain’s Jambalaya Rice Mix cooked with 1 pound ground turkey according to box directions
  • 1 box hard taco shells (this is great on soft, corn tortillas as well)
  • shredded cheese
  • mixed greens
  • hot sauce of choice
  • green salad and dressing

 

Definitely a different idea, but my family loves them!  Have a terrific Taco Tuesday!

IMG_6329

Enjoy! ❤

 

One thought on “Zatarain’s Tacos?

Leave a Reply

