Walnut Panocha

IMG_6256

Hi there friends!

Well, it’s Throwback Thursday!  I know I haven’t done a  throwback in quite a while, but I was inspired by my boys being home for the summer and an old Better Homes and Gardens Junior Cookbook from 1963 that I’ve had for a long time.

IMG_6263

 

I love when the kids are home for the summer (except for their bickering) because we can enjoy laid-back days and do things on a whim from time to time.  I am beyond fortunate to have a wonderful Hubby that works so hard so that the boys can experience and enjoy this part of childhood.

Yesterday was one of those days.  I had dinner prepped and ready for the oven and had some extra time to make something yummy for a treat after dinner.  I had decided on a quick candy recipe from the cookbook and was just getting ready to start gathering the ingredients when my oldest son popped into the kitchen and started to assist. (I can’t even begin to express how much I love that he enjoys cooking/baking with my husband and I.)

Well, we got started and only about 15 minutes later, we had this wonderful pan of yumminess ready to cool for dessert!  Don’t you just want to jump for joy when you get such a great treat in no time at all? 🙂  Sometimes the simpliest of treats are the yummiest.  Not to mention the time spent with our children…it’s irreplaceable. ❤

Here’s how Samuel and I made the candy…

IMG_6260

Walnut Panocha

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

  • Spray an 8X8 baking dish with cooking spray.
  • Melt butter in medium saucepan on low heat.
  • Stir in brown sugar, cook and stir for 2 minutes over low heat.
  • Add the milk and cook until it boils.
  • Remove from heat and cool for a few minutes.
  • Whisk in the powdered sugar until well blended.  Stir in walnuts.
  • Pour into baking dish and cool.

*recipe from Better Homes and Gardens Junior Cookbook, 1963

IMG_6258

Enjoy! ❤

2 thoughts on “Walnut Panocha

Leave a Reply

