Tamale Pie

IMG_6231

Hi there friends!

Yesterday, I posted a simple recipe that I use for Chipotle Shredded Chicken.  Today, I want to share the recipe that I used the shredded chicken in the other night.  Tamale Pie.  I LOVE tamales!  Sadly, we didn’t have tamales this last holiday season, so there aren’t any leftovers in my freezer. 😦

So, what’s a mom to do when she has a “hankering” for tamales, but doesn’t have any or the time to make them?  Well, this determined mom decided that maybe, just maybe, tamale pie may be a sufficient substitute.

There are a lot of recipes out there for tamale pie that start with a cornbread-type mixture and have all kinds of ingredients added to them such as corn, beans, tomatoes and so on.  I’m sure these recipes are more than delicious, but I was wanting something that resembled a traditional tamale, so all I needed to do was make some masa and add some meat, right?

Right!  I made some masa, added meat, “steam-baked” and viola!, I had something that resembled traditional tamales.  I added  some goodies on top and it was as close to a traditional tamale as I’m going to get without having actual tamales.  YUM! 🙂

Here’s what I did…

Tamale Pie

  • Difficulty: Easy-Moderate
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups masa flour
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • about 1 1/2 pounds of Chipotle Shredded Chicken
  • leftover liquid from Chipotle Shredded Chicken (or you could substitute a small amount of enchilada sauce)
  • toppings of choice…I used cilantro-lime dressing, tomatoes, cilantro and chives

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray 8X8 baking dish with cooking spray.
  • Whisk masa flour, broth, baking powder, salt and canola oil together in bowl.  Cover and let rest for 15-20 minutes.IMG_6217
  • Take half of the masa and press evenly into bottom of baking dish and up the sides.
  • Spoon meat into dish and add enough liquid to just moisten meat.IMG_6221
  • Carefully place remaining dough on top of meat and seal to dough on sides so that meat is not exposed. (I plopped the dough in spoonfuls and spread it out with my fingers)IMG_6222
  • Place baking dish in a larger baking/roasting pan and fill outer pan 1/2-3/4 full with very hot water.
  • Cover with aluminum foil and press to seal outer edges.  CAREFULLY place pan in oven.
  • Bake for 45 minutes or until masa is set.  CAREFULLY (water will most likely be boiling) remove pan from oven, uncover and let stand for a few minutes before serving. (If desired, you can place smaller pan back in oven for 10 minutes to be sure masa is set)IMG_6228
  • Serve with desired toppings.

IMG_6231

Enjoy! ❤

One thought on “Tamale Pie

Leave a Reply

