Veggie Tray Pasta Salad

IMG_6202

Hi there friends!!  Long time, no blog.

As some of you may know, I started back to college this past semester (at the young age of 44…lol) and between school work, kids and household duties found little time to blog.  I’ve really missed reading everyone’s posts and creating my own as well!

But…it’s summertime and with no classes until the end of August, I can catch up with y’all and get back to my blogging.  YAY! 🙂

For my “first” post, I’m sharing a pasta salad that I made this morning for a barbecue at a friend’s home later today.  I absolutely love pasta salads…I sort of think of them as a “buffet dish” of the veggie drawer.  You can pretty much take any veggies leftover in your veggie drawer that don’t have a home in another dish and throw them into a pasta salad.  Plus the variety of dressings that you can concoct for them is practically endless.

My idea for this salad came from another dish that is typically found at barbecues…a veggie tray.  I decided to take some of the veggies that are used for veggie trays and use a ranch dressing, which is a typical dip for veggie trays and combine them into a pasta salad.  After playing around with the ranch dressing for awhile (I used homemade), the end result was yummy!  Can’t wait for everyone to try it!

Here’s what I did…remember, the ingredients and quantities can be adjusted to what you have and your taste!

IMG_6196

Veggie Tray Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 box whole grain pasta (I used penne)
  • chopped celery
  • chopped carrots
  • chopped broccoli
  • quartered grape tomatoes
  • sliced green onions
  • ranch dressing (bottled or homemade)

Directions:

  • Cook and drain pasta.
  • While pasta is cooking, chop veggies.
  • In large bowl, combine and gently stir pasta, veggies and dressing.
  • Refrigerate for several hours and stir again before serving.

IMG_6199

Enjoy! ❤

 

 

2 thoughts on “Veggie Tray Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

