Chipotle Pasta Casserole

DSCF2071

Hi there, friends!!  I know it’s been a couple of weeks since I posted.  I hope you all are well!

I started back to school this semester and I’m still working on making time for blogging along with studying and all my other daily tasks.  Although attending college was much easier the first time around (before children, household duties and while I still remembered everything from high school, lol), I will admit that I am definitely appreciating the opportunity and experience so much more than I did at the age of 18. 🙂

Even though I have been limited on blogging time recently, I have still been able to come up with a few yummy recipes to share.  This recipe came about after promising my boys that we would have a pasta casserole for dinner and then the can of chipotle peppers all but jumped off the pantry shelf at me, as if begging to be used. 🙂

This is an easy, hearty casserole that is wonderful for filling hungry bellies while not lacking flavor…

Chipotle Pasta Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces bulk spicy pork sausage
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 2 (24 ounce) cans plain spaghetti sauce (I use Hunts Traditional)
  • 3-4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 1 (12 ounce) box whole grain pasta, such as penne, elbows, or rotini, cooked and drained
  • 1 bag frozen corn
  • 1 1/2-2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onions

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Brown sausage with onion and seasoning salt.  Meanwhile cook pasta to just al dente according to package directions.
  • After sausage mixture is browned, add in spaghetti sauce and chipotle peppers.  Simmer for a few minutes to allow flavors to combine.
  • Add pasta and corn to sauce mixture and turn into casserole dish.  Top with cheese and green onions.
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes.  Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

DSCF2072

Enjoy! ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Pasta Casserole

Leave a Reply

