Asparagus and Potato Chowder

DSCF1990

It’s “Souper Saturday” and I love soup!

I told my family a couple weeks back that I could probably eat soup for dinner every night…almost.  That’s because I would miss tacos, but I make a pretty good taco soup, so I guess I would be able to cope. 🙂

My latest soup came to be due to a great sale on asparagus last week.  It was $1.69 a pound, which is a rock bottom price where we live, so I bought two bunches.  I had already figured on roasting the first bunch with some olive oil and garlic (my favorite way to eat asparagus), but I wanted to do something different with the second bunch.

DSCF1986

I was hungry for soup (surprise, surprise), so I thought I would try making one in my Crock Pot (my other love) ❤ with asparagus.  I just started adding ingredients and the following recipe came to be…

Asparagus and Potato Chowder

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch asparagus with the ends trimmed away and cut into 1″-2″ pieces
  • 3 large potatoes cut into chunks
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon course ground pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4  cup heavy cream

Directions:

  • Add asparagus and potatoes to Crock Pot and toss gently with flour.
  • Add spices and chicken broth and cook on low for 4 hours or until potatoes reach desired tenderness.
  • Add butter and heavy cream and heat for another 20-30 minutes.  Remove bay leaf.
  • Serve with bread, if desired.

DSCF1990

Enjoy! ❤

 

3 thoughts on “Asparagus and Potato Chowder

Leave a Reply

