Almond Poppy-Flax Pancakes

DSCF1940

It’s Tuesday.  Only three more days until the weekend. 🙂

I know, I know, why am I thinking about the weekend when it’s only Tuesday?  Well, in our house, it’s when we get to make fun and yummy food for breakfast.

I’m not a big breakfast eater and, to be honest, pancakes were never one of my favorites.  I’ve never been a big fan of using a lot of syrup, so they were always quite bland to me.  That was before I started “doctoring them up” a few years ago.

I started out by just adding milled flax seed to them to help “health them up” a bit.  Then I started adding all kinds of different ingredients to them.  One of my favorite additions has been oatmeal…until now.

As you might have figured out from some of my previous recipes, I absolutely love to add almond flavoring to all kinds of things, especially muffins.  In fact, almond poppy muffins are my all-time favorite, so why not try almond poppy pancakes?

DSCF1933

I’m sure glad I did!!  They tasted like almond poppy muffins in pancake form.  Yum!

DSCF1937

An extra-added bonus…they are so easy to make!  And, remember, pancakes freeze wonderfully, so you can easily have them on your busy days as well…

Almond Poppy-Flax Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • enough prepared pancake batter for about one dozen pancakes (I cheat and use prepackaged mix that just calls for water)
  • 2 tablespoons milled flax seed
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 1 tablespoon almond extract

Directions:

  • Add the flax seed, poppy seeds and almond extract to your batter and cook as usual.

DSCF1940

Enjoy! ❤

2 thoughts on “Almond Poppy-Flax Pancakes

Leave a Reply

