Lentil Soup with Sausage and Spinach

DSCF1914

Hi there friends!  Well, we’ve made it to the weekend and since tomorrow is Saturday, I thought I would share a “Souper Saturday” recipe.

I’ve made lentil soup for many years now.  I’ve always used a recipe that I adapted from a recipe I found in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, but this time I thought I would make a couple additions to add some more flavor and nutrients to this already healthy, yummy soup.

This recipe makes a good bit of soup, but it freezes very well, so you can easily get two meals with very little effort at all!  Great for a Saturday, right?

Here you go…

Lentil Soup with Sausage and Spinach

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces bulk spicy sausage (I use Farmer John’s Hot Sausage)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 8 cups water
  • 1 (29 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups lentils
  • 1/2 pound baby carrots
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • a couple handfuls of fresh baby spinach

Directions:

  • Brown sausage with onion and seasoning salt.
  • Add remaining ingredients except spinach and simmer for 1 1/2 hours (make sure carrots are tender before serving).
  • Add desired amount of spinach to each bowl, add soup and stir (this warms the spinach, but doesn’t overcook it).
  • Serve with some shredded cheese on top, if desired.  I used some Italian blend cheese. 🙂

DSCF1912

DSCF1913

DSCF1914

Enjoy! ❤

 

3 thoughts on “Lentil Soup with Sausage and Spinach

Leave a Reply

