“No Name” Soup

DSCF1899

Yep!  This soup has no name…so, I’m calling it “No Name” Soup.

I tried.

Really.

I tried to come up with a name, but nothing seemed to work.

Does that ever happen to you when you put together a new dish?  You come up with a great soup, casserole or dessert but can’t figure out what in the world to name it.

I guess if I had more time or felt a little more creative right now, I could come up with some clever name for it, but it will have to remain nameless…For now. 🙂

My inspiration for this soup was quite simple.  I had several ingredients in my fridge, freezer and pantry that needed to “find a home”.  I had a pound of ground turkey left over from some meatballs, some unused hominy left over from some pasole, a brick of cream cheese left over from a great sale and a few other things that have been waiting around in my pantry for a great opportunity to come along.  I decided to combine all of them into a soup and, boy…oh boy, they found “home sweet home”!

Here’s how I did it… The only variation from the actual soup I made is the amount of chipotles…I used a whole can.  I would not suggest this unless you LOVE really spicy foods (which I do). 🙂

No Name Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground turkey or lean beef, browned and drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained
  • 2 cups hominy, drained
  • 2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, minced (feel free to use more if you like more spice) 🙂
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 2 tablespoons homemade or 1 packet store-purchased taco seasoning
  • 1 (29 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 quart water
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, cut into chunks
  • chopped cilantro
  • lime wedges
  • warmed tortillas or tortilla/corn chips

Directions:

  • Place all ingredients except cream cheese, cilantro, lime and tortillas in Crockpot and cook on low for 4-6 hours.
  • Add cream cheese and let cook for another 30 minutes or until the cheese is thoroughly melted.
  • Garnish with cilantro and lime and serve with tortillas or chips, if desired.

DSCF1899

As you can see, I was a little hungry for Fritos! 🙂

Enjoy ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

