Chicken Mole for Taco Tuesday

DSCF1749

Hola amigos, es Taco Martes!

Yes, I did have to use the translation tool on Google to use that greeting! 🙂  Although I have learned a small vocabulary of individual words, I sure can’t put them together in a sentence that doesn’t sound like Spanglish, and believe me, it’s a lot heavier on the “glish”. 🙂  I couldn’t roll an “R” to save my life.

Thankfully, speaking Spanish is not a prerequisite for preparing Mexican food!  If it was, I wouldn’t be able to make any of the super-spicy, tasty food I love and that Hubby enjoyed so much before I started cooking for him.

Before meeting my husband, I had never had chicken mole.  I was very excited the first time he told me that he was going to be making it for me for our next dinner together.  The only problem…I didn’t know what the heck it was.

After finding out from a friend that it’s “chocolate chicken”, I was definitely curious.  However, I love rubs based on brown sugar on pork, so maybe chocolate chicken wasn’t so far of a stretch. 🙂  Plus, my guy was making me dinner after I had worked a 10 hour day…can’t get much better than that, can I?

I’m so glad that I kept an open mind, because I LOVE chicken mole!!

This recipe isn’t from scratch.  It’s the mole sauce from the…jar…  I know, I know, but this does make it easier to have on a weeknight, such as “Taco Tuesday”.

Another benefit?  If you use Dona Maria brand, the jar can be reused as a cute little drinking glass after the label is removed.  Reduce, recycle, reuse!! 🙂

Here you go…

Chicken Mole

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 onion, peeled and cut in half
  • 1 (8.25 ounce) jar mole sauce
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Place chicken and onion with some salt and pepper in pot and fill with water a few inches above chicken.
  • Bring to boil and simmer for about 30 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked.
  • Drain chicken, reserving broth in separate bowl.  Shred chicken.

DSCF1744

  • Add 1 1/2-2 cups broth to pot and bring to a simmer.
  • Whisk in mole sauce, sugar and salt.  The mole will be clumpy at first, just have patience and work it into the broth.

DSCF1742

  • Once mole is incorporated into broth, simmer for 15 minutes, adding more broth as needed to reached desired consistency.  Sauce should be just thick enough to coat chicken.

DSCF1743

  • Add shredded chicken to sauce and simmer for 5-10 minutes.
  • Serve on tortillas for tacos or on top of rice.

DSCF1749

Enjoy! ❤

 

One thought on “Chicken Mole for Taco Tuesday

Leave a Reply

