My “Miracle” Glass Cleaner

DSCF1800

Hi friends!

It’s the Monday after Christmas.  You know what that means…one holiday weekend down and one more to go, and I’m sure you probably have some cleaning to do to prepare for the new year.  If you’re into making resolutions, maybe having a tidier home environment is one of them.

I don’t know about you, but I use glass cleaner for a myriad of cleaning tasks, not just windows and mirrors.  I use it for counter-tops,  appliances and pretty much any surface that is safe for cleaning and isn’t wood. I even use it in the bathroom when just a light cleaning is required.

My “miracle” glass cleaner only requires 3 ingredients and I’ll bet that you already have them sitting in your cabinets….

DSCF1801

The first is vinegar. I know what you may be thinking right now.  “Yuck, I don’t want my home smelling like vinegar.”  Believe me, I understand!  Years ago, I tried using a mixture of vinegar and water and while it cleaned wonderfully, I just couldn’t handle the strong vinegar odor and it seemed like it took forever to get dry, which led to streaking.

DSCF1802

The second ingredient is how the “miracle” happened for my windows and mirrors..I saw several pins on Pinterest that added rubbing alcohol to the vinegar and water.  That got me thinking…alcohol has sanitizing properties (which we all love),  it dries quickly and I thought maybe the addition of alcohol would help tone down the odor of the vinegar.

While I was apprehensive at first because of my previous experience with cleaning with vinegar, I decided to give it a try.  I was searching for ways to cut costs on my cleaning products and this would definitely fit that bill!  Both vinegar and rubbing alcohol are downright cheap compared to even the most inexpensive store brand glass cleaner.

I was and still am amazed at how well this mixture works!  I won[t lie to you, it does still have a vinegar odor, but the alcohol tones it down enough to be tolerable and it doesn’t linger. The alcohol also helps it dry quickly, so I am able to use those washable and reusable microfiber cloths that I found so useless before.  Thus, saving on paper towels as well.  Yay!! 🙂

Some additional tips for “miracle” glass cleaner…rinse well and reuse an empty spray bottle left from your current glass cleaner, purchase your vinegar by the gallon and reuse a gallon bottle to make a larger quantity.

Happy cleaning!  Lol! 🙂

Miracle Glass Cleaner

Ingredients for One Quart (multiply times four for a gallon):

  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1/2 cup rubbing alcohol (isopropyl alcohol)
  • water

Directions:

  • Using a funnel, pour the vinegar and alcohol into the spray bottle.
  • Fill with water and get cleaning! 🙂

DSCF1800

Enjoy! ❤

 

 

6 thoughts on “My “Miracle” Glass Cleaner

  1. Perfect. I have all the ingredients I need! I have issues with toxic chemical fumes, so this will serve as a wonderful replacement to my “Windex.” Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

