Green Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

DSCF1777

Hi everyone!  I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas!

It’s December 26th, the day after Christmas, also known as “Wrapping Paper Buying Day” in our house.  I don’t EVER buy wrapping paper for Christmas at full price.  I usually load up every couple of years and don’t have to worry about buying any for awhile.  After last year’s purchase I’ve been put on a “paper moratorium” by Hubby and my daughter Lol. 🙂

Even though it is the day after Christmas, I wanted to share my Green Velvet cake that I made for Christmas dessert.  I was so excited that it came out as green as it did!  I guess that’s what 4 tablespoons of green food coloring does. 🙂

I found the cake recipe on (http://www.popsugar.com/food/Green-Velvet-Cake-Recipe-34320406) and the cream cheese frosting recipe on (http://www.glorioustreats.com/2010/02/recipe-cream-cheese-frosting.html).  The only variation from the recipe I made was using my mixer for the cake batter.  I wanted to be sure that the batter got mixed thoroughly so I would end up with an even, rich green color.

Here are the recipes…You could always use it for St Paddy’s Day. 🙂

Green Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Cake Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk ( I don’t keep buttermilk on hand…I use 1 tablespoon lemon juice and milk to finish the cup…I’ve used this substitution for years and it works perfectly every time)
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 ounces (4 tablespoons) green food coloring

Cake Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line bottoms of 2  8-inch cake pans with parchment paper and spray bottoms and sides with cooking spray.
  • Mix wet ingredients until well blended, then add dry ingredients and mix until well combined.
  • Add food coloring and mix until color is distributed evenly.
  • Separate batter evenly into cake pans.
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes.  Cool completely before frosting.

Frosting Ingredients:

  • ½ cup unsalted butter (set at room temp about 10 minutes, but should still be cool)
  • 8 ounces cream cheese (directly from fridge)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 to 4 Tablespoons heavy cream or milk

Frosting Directions:

  • Mix butter until creamy, then add cream cheese and mix thoroughly. Add vanilla extract and mix.
  • Mix in powdered sugar, starting slowly and mix until well blended.
  • Add cream just one tablespoon at a time until desired consistency is reached.
  • Frost cake and store in refrigerator.

DSCF1780

DSCF1778

Enjoy! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

