Christmas Hot Chocolate

DSCF1763

Hi there friends!

Well, we’ve made it to Christmas Eve!  I have some very excited young men in my home!

DSCF1752

I know that some parents grow weary of their kids’ constant “pestering” during the last few days before Christmas, but after 24 years of parenting, I have gotten wayyyy past that.  I learned years ago to enjoy their excitement leading up to the “Chief Elf’s” arrival.  I imagine that it’s because I know that they don’t stay little very long and I remember that same excitement from my own childhood.

One of the cutest things my boys do is to clarify the “schedule” for Christmas morning.  In fact, my youngest did just that a few minutes before I started this post.  He wanted to be sure that presents were to be opened BEFORE Christmas breakfast was made…but reminded me that the “Christmas Hot Chocolate” needs to be ready in time for the opening of presents.  I guess as long as we have the hot chocolate, we can hold out for breakfast until after they’ve surveyed all their loot. 🙂

I have to admit that I absolutely love that they always count on my Christmas Hot Chocolate.  There are a million and one recipes out there these days for hot chocolate, and I’m sure that they’re all delicious and I know that mine isn’t anything special, but it is the only hot chocolate I grew up having.  My mom usually only made it when it snowed, so it was a special treat.  I wanted to carry on the tradition with my little ones, but I had have a different special occasion to serve it on since we don’t have snow in Southern California. 🙂

So began “Christmas Hot Chocolate”.

DSCF1761

While I do make it other times, they know that they are “guaranteed” homemade hot chocolate on Christmas morning.  Simple as it may be, I truly love this little tradition with my kids!

Here is the simple recipe…you most likely have everything you need on hand.

Wishing all of you a Merry Christmas!!  Enjoy your families and stay safe! ❤

Mom's Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons Hershey’s Cocoa
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 10 and 1/2 cups milk (I use fat-free, but 1%, 2% or whole works well too)

Directions:

  • Whisk together all ingredients and heat slowly over the stove or on low in crock-pot.

-Some “upgrades” to consider- marshmallows, whipped cream, peppermint sticks, cinnamon sticks and my favorite…a spoonful of peanut butter in the bottom of the mug.  YUM!

-This can be mixed ahead of time and stored in the refrigerator.

-Leftovers can be refrigerated and reheated in the microwave.

DSCF1766

Enjoy! ❤

 

6 thoughts on “Christmas Hot Chocolate

  1. My boys also love homemade hot chocolate during this season. We usually start the ‘tradition’ on the evening when we put up and decorate our tree – and then they seem to want it every other day! My recipe is similar to yours with the addition of pure vanilla extract and tons of whipped cream, of course!! And funny thing-my mugs look very similar to yours too! Merry Christmas to you and your family!! 🎄🎄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

