Ranger Bars

DSCF1732

Hi there friends!

Are you all ready for Christmas?  I don’t know about you, but I never feel like I’m completely ready.  There always seems to be a last-minute task that needs to be completed.

In honor of “last minute” tasks, the following is a quick and easy recipe just in case you need a last minute goodie for unexpected guests or get-togethers.

This recipe is based on an old recipe I have for Ranger Cookies.  I didn’t have all the ingredients I needed, so I began to substitute with what I had on hand .  Then I decided that I didn’t want to mess with drop cookies while I was making dinner, so bars it was! 🙂

Hubby and the boys loved them, so I guess my experiment was a success. They would be great as a weeknight dessert as well.

Ranger Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup walnuts, chopped

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray.
  • Cream butter and sugar until well blended.  Add egg and almond extract and mix until well combined.
  • Add flours, baking powder and baking soda and mix well.  Mix in oatmeal until well blended. Stir in walnuts.
  • Spread batter in baking dish and bake for 30 minutes.

* These would be great served a la mode!

DSCF1735

DSCF1732

Enjoy! ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Ranger Bars

Leave a Reply

