Pozole

DSCF1728

Happy Christmas Week!  Five days and counting until Christmas and the full moon.

At this time of the year, the Mexican food that usually gets the most attention is tamales.  So, of course, I have to be different and post about Pozole. 🙂

Don’t get me wrong…I LOVE, and I mean LOOOOVE tamales!!! ❤

But, Hubby has been wanting to have some Pozole for awhile now and I have been wanting to take a stab at my first try at making it.

We can cross that Mexican dish off my list of “things to try”.  I think I nailed it…in a “white girl” kind of way.  Lol. 🙂  I asked Hubby for his input on how he and his family have made it in the past and added some of my own ideas.  We ended up with a combination of the two and our collaboration tasted great!!

If you’re looking for a truly “authentic” recipe for Pozole, this is probably not the recipe for you.  Most families make it a little differently and I believe that you should make your food match your lifestyle and taste.

This is my spin and we loved it.  As with most of my recipes, you can take this and add your own “spin” to it.  Have fun!

Pozole

Ingredients:

  • 2 pound pork roast, cooked and chopped
  • 3 quarts chicken broth
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large jalapenos, minced
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Mexican oregano
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 4 cups hominy, drained
  • chopped cabbage and cilantro, sliced radishes and lime wedges

Directions:

  • Bring all ingredients, except hominy and toppings to a boil in a large pot.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes.
  • Add hominy and simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Serve with cabbage, cilantro, radishes and lime wedges.

DSCF1726

DSCF1729

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

