Sweet Old Bay Rub

Hi friends!

Question for y’all…Do you love the smell of dinner cooking in the oven?

I sure do, and even though I’m not a betting girl, I’ll take a bet that you do too.

If you answered yes, this is most definitely a rub you will want to give a try!  It is awesomely delicious on pork, but I’m sure it would be just as tasty on chicken or beef.

It’s based on a recipe that originally called for chili powder, but I decided to swap the chili powder out and add Hot Old Bay in it’s place.  I’m so glad I did!!

If you haven’t tried Old Bay seasoning, you should!  I grew up in Pennsylvania, so I never had crab throughout my childhood without Old Bay.  After moving to California, my mom shipped me cans of Old Bay for years because I couldn’t purchase it out here.  Fortunately these days, it can be purchased pretty much everywhere.  Yay!!

My favorite way to use this rub is to coat my meat with it in the morning and let it “marinate” in the refrigerator until I’m ready to make dinner.

DSCF1705

I must warn you, though!!  You MUST have patience!  Although, the rub is really quick to make, having patience throughout the baking process can be difficult…it smells soooooo good while it’s baking.  Please, please, have patience.  You need to make sure your meat is completely done. 🙂

Here you go…

Sweet Old Bay Rub

  • Difficulty: Very Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Hot Old Bay (you can use regular Old Bay or chili powder)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic granules or powder

Directions:

  • Combine ingredients in small bowl.
  • Use or store in air-tight jar.

To use:

  • Coat pork chops in rub and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until done.

DSCF1709

Enjoy! ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Old Bay Rub

Leave a Reply

