Gingerbread Cookies

IMG_2557

Hi there, friends!  I hope all of you are enjoying your Christmas season thus far.  This is definitely the season of traditions.  We all have our traditions that we have learned, partake in and hope to pass down to our children and grandchildren.  What are some of your favorite traditions?

One of my favorite traditions (I’m sure this won’t surprise you) is baking Christmas cookies.  This tradition was passed down to me from my mom.  Most of my recipes for Christmas cookies are still the ones from her recipe box.  I have added a few of my own and and deleted one of hers, because I’m sure she’s the only one that can make them…That recipe is sacred and requires her special touch. 🙂

This recipe is special to me because it comes from my mom’s recipes, I only use it at Christmastime and these cookies require decorating help from the entire family.  I love the time spent with my family decorating our gingerbread boys and girls.

IMG_2523

While I have tried different recipes for a lot of different foods, I have never wavered and used another recipe for gingerbread cookies.  Hopefully, you’ll love them as much as my family does.

Here you go!

Gingerbread Cookies

  • Time: Chilling Time- 3 Hours
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup dark molasses
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 5 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves

Directions:

  • Cream shortening and sugar.  Beat in egg, molasses and vinegar.
  • Combine dry ingredients and beat into shortening mixture gradually until well combined.
  • Chill dough for 3 hours.
  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  • On floured surface, roll dough to 1/8″ thick and cut with desired cutters.
  • Place 1″ apart on cookie sheet and bake for 5-6 minutes.
  • Cool thoroughly before decorating.

IMG_2532IMG_2534

Happy cookie decorating!  Enjoy! ❤

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

