Easy Homemade Silver Cleaner

Happy Monday everyone!  I don’t know about you, but Monday is the day of the week when I feel most inspired to complete large or tedious cleaning tasks.  Maybe it’s just the readiness I feel to start a new week or my innate instinct to always be cleaning something.  Who knows?  Lol 🙂

A couple months ago, I realized that it was time for me to clean my silver tea set again.  I have learned to keep up on cleaning it after spending “forever” cleaning it for the first time years ago.

Up until now, I have used a store-bought cleaner/polish.  If you have purchased these products, you know that they can be quite pricey and they can be quite labor intensive with the application, rubbing, rinsing and buffing.  But, I didn’t think I had much of a choice because I’ve never had any success with the “wipe-on, wipe-off” products.

I was wrong!!  Very wrong!  I did have a choice.  I just didn’t know it until I needed to clean my tea set this past time.

How did I find out that I had another choice?

Desperation, pure desperation, because I had run out of my store-bought cleaner.  Well, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit, I do know that a sparkling, clean tea set is in no way a life or death situation, especially since it is just seen and not used. 🙂

Seriously though, I have learned in the past few years, that most of the time, we already have something sitting at home that we can use for specific cleaning tasks.  And…most of the time, I have found the “recipe” for these cleaning solutions on Pinterest.  That is exactly where I found this recipe.  I read a couple different recipes and the following recipe is the most common one I found, so I figured it was the best bet.

It sure was the best solution for both my lightly and heavily tarnished silver pieces.  I have cleaned my tea set many times since it was handed down to me, but I had never tackled the heavily tarnished flatware…until now.  Boy!  I’m sure glad I did!

This method is amazing!  If you’re an old dinosaur like me and care about some old silver looking shiny and bright, give this a whirl!

Homemade Silver Cleaner

  • Difficulty: Very Easy
  • Print

What You Need:IMG_5271

  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • aluminum foil

What To Do:

  • Line your kitchen sink with aluminum foil (basically like an insert for your sink)
  • Pour in the baking soda and salt and fill sink with hot water.
  • Add your silver pieces and let soak for 30 minutes (rotate large pieces that don’t completely fit halfway through).IMG_5272
  • Rinse and dry thoroughly.

Enjoy using or just looking at your silver again!  I’m looking forward to actually using my flatware for Christmas dinner. ❤

IMG_5275

Leave a Reply

