Carrot Cake with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

DSCF1668

Happy Saturday!  I hope you all are enjoying your weekend.  Less than two weeks until Christmas!

I’m sharing a recipe today for an awesomely yummy carrot cake that I baked the other day.  I haven’t made one in years, but after “taking stock” of my fridge, I realized that I had a “ton” of baby carrots that were left over from Hubby’s birthday party a couple of weeks ago.  I didn’t want them to reach the point where I would have to toss them, and I was looking for a dessert to make…so, what better to make with a whole bunch of carrots than a carrot cake?  I can’t think of anything, that’s for sure! 🙂

I pulled out the Ninja, grated a bunch of baby carrots and got started baking…

Here’s the recipe I used.  You can use all white flour if you choose.  I just prefer to use whole wheat flour anytime I can and it works really well in this recipe.  You could add nuts and/or raisins as well.

Carrot Cake with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

Cake ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 4 eggs

 

Cake directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees and grease a 9X13 cake pan.
  • Stir dry ingredients together in mixer bowl and then add wet ingredients.
  • Combine with mixer until well blended.
  • Pour into pan and bake for 45-50 minutes.
  • Cool completely.

 

Now, for the best part…THE FROSTING!!

Frosting ingredients:

  • 8 ounce “brick” of cream cheese, softened
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3-1/2 cup  powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

Frosting directions:

  • Combine all ingredients in mixer bowl and mix on low to start then on medium until desired consistency is reached.
  • Frost cake and store in refrigerator.

Enjoy! ❤

DSCF1652DSCF1654DSCF1668

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

