Aloha Pumpkin Bread

IMG_5227Aloha friends!

As I’m posting this recipe for a fall goodie, they’re forecasting temperatures over 100 degrees everyday for the rest of this week.  Ahhh…gotta love the desert life! 🙂

Even though it still feels a little like summer here, I certainly can’t put off fall baking.  In fact, I did a lot of “pumkin’ bakin'” this past Saturday, much to the delight of the boys (including the big one) in my family.

This is just a basic pumpkin recipe that I bumped up, “aloha style”.

After visiting with hubby’s mom and aunt on Friday and talking about Hawaii, I couldn’t get Hawaii off my mind.  I needed to make some pumpkin bread for my little pumpkins, so I thought I would make my traditional pumpkin bread with a touch of Hawaiian flare.

It seemed to be a success, at least according to hubby…and it looks pretty when it’s cut…IMG_5226

Aloha Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 8 ounces canned pineapple tidbits or slices cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray loaf pan with cooking spray.
  • In a large bowl combine sugar, pumpkin, canola oil, eggs and water.
  • In a smaller bowl stir together flour, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger.  Add to pumpkin mixture and stir until combined.
  • Fold in pineapple, coconut and walnuts.
  • Pour into loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes or until done.

*If needed, cover with foil for last 15 minutes to prevent over-browning.

IMG_5227

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

