Almond Cheerios Treats

IMG_5151Hi there friends!  I hope you’re having a great weekend.  I’m calling today “Sweet-Tooth Saturday”.  I think we all have a sweet-tooth craving from time to time.  I know I have them more than I should.  Lol. 🙂

I don’t know about you, but my sweet-tooth always seems to call out when I have limited ingredients on hand.  Well, I have learned over the years to take a very good look at what I do have left in the pantry and I’ll usually find something to put together….And it usually turns out pretty yummy.

This recipe is a result of one of those sweet-tooth cravings one night after dinner and limited ingredients on hand, but I quickly found a substitution and a couple additions that made it even yummier.

I have always loved Rice Crispy Treats, but I didn’t have any Rice Crispies in my cereal stockpile (they don’t go on sale here very often).  I did, however, have plenty of Multi-grain Cheerios in my stockpile…bingo!  Those would work…and they’re quite tasty as well.

While I was scanning my pantry shelves, I also found some sliced almonds that were leftover from sundaes I made awhile back and I figured I would throw those in the mix…almonds make everything taste even better, right? 🙂IMG_5150

Almond Cheerios Treats

Ingredients:

  • 5 tablespoons butter
  • 16 oz bag miniature marshmallows
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 8 cups Multi-grain Cheerios
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds

Directions:

  • Spray 13×9 pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  • Melt butter in large microwave-safe bowl in microwave at 20 second intervals until melted.
  • Stir in marshmallows until coated and microwave at 30 second intervals until melted.
  • Once marshmallows are melted, stir in almond extract, cereal and almonds until coated.
  • Pour mixture into pan and spread evenly.
  • Let cool thoroughly before cutting.

IMG_5157

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

