Lentil Soup

IMG_5185Last week, I decided to make my Wednesday, “Waste-Not Wednesday”.  I have decided that I’m going to do it again this week. Why not? Most of us like to save money and not waste food, right?

The recipe I’m sharing today will do just that!  It won’t waste your money and it just might keep you from tossing a couple produce items from your fridge.

There’s a bonus as well!  It’s healthy. So, let’s review…saves money, reduces waste AND it’s good for you!! Sounds like a winner to me. 😊

In fact, out of all the ingredients in the soup, only 3 of them aren’t listed in my 100 Best Health Foods book. The rest of the ingredients fall into the “best health foods” category.  Not too shabby, huh?

Those 3 ingredients are the spaghetti sauce, salt and pepper.  If you would like to make it even healthier, you could use fresh tomatoes or plain purée in place of the spaghetti sauce and only add salt to taste (although I already decreased the salt from my original recipe).  At the risk of being wrong, I don’t believe the pepper makes any difference, except additional seasoning.

Another bonus…this recipe makes enough to feed an army (about 3-4 quarts) so make sure to have some freezer storage containers on hand.  This soup is excellent for leftovers; you may need to add a little bit water when reheating.

The jalapeño-chive corn muffins that I posted awhile back are a yummy compliment to the soup as well. This time I added some corn and cilantro…YUM!!…

Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups water
  • 1 (24 oz can) plain spaghetti sauce (I use the Hunts Traditional)
  • 2 cups lentils
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon spicy oregano
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients in large soup/stockpot and simmer for 2 hours or until celery is tender and lentils are cooked.

It will look more like a “stew” thickness when done.

IMG_5180

Enjoy ❤

Leave a Reply

