Hot Pepper Relish

IMG_5109Hi there friends!  Welcome to the start of another week. 🙂

After returning home from dropping my boys off at school this morning, I started making my spaghetti sauce for tonight’s dinner.  As I was in the refrigerator pulling out ingredients for my task at hand, I realized that I still had an abundance of peppers that we brought home from my mother-in-law’s last weekend.

I wanted to be sure to use them before they started to go bad, so I decided on two condiments that I could make with them.  I’m sharing the first recipe in this post and I’ll share the second after we have the opportunity to try them…They have to “rest” for a whole week before they’re ready. 😐

The recipe I’m sharing today is for Hot Pepper Relish.  YUM!  I’m sure there are many things that you could top with this, but there is just one thing that I have always used it for…HOAGIES!  Or, as, most of you would know them, sub-sandwiches.

f85b0b37c807a7610cc55ab3e19625fd

I’m from Pennsylvania and I grew up only knowing them as hoagies.  Most people believe that a hoagie and a sub sandwich are one and the same.  I can’t speak for all, but hoagies in my family were a little different than a typical sub sandwich.

What is the difference?  Two simple little things…oregano and pepper relish.  For me, it’s just a sub-sandwich without them.  With them, it becomes a HOAGIE!

Whether you call it a hoagie or a sub, this hot pepper relish is delish!

IMG_5102

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups assorted chili peppers, chopped (I used a mix of red chili, cherry, and jalapeno peppers)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar (red-pepper seasoned)
  • 1/3 cup (heaping) sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic granules
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons dry mustard
  • salt to taste

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients in saucepan and heat to a low boil over medium heat.IMG_5105
  • After mixture starts to boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for about 30 minutes (most of the liquid should be absorbed).IMG_5107
  • Cool for a few minutes then pulse in blender until desired consistency is reached.IMG_5109
  • Store in the refrigerator.

Fun fact…as the hot pepper relish was simmering on the stove, I read that today was “National Eat a Hoagie Day” on http://livecheapfeelrich.wordpress.com/!  Woohoo!  I just may have a new favorite “holiday”…at least until I find out if there is a National Peanut Butter Day. 🙂

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

