Throwback To 1963 With Old-Fashioned Sour Cream Cookies

IMG_5032IMG_5042Hi there everyone!! It’s Throwback Thursday and we’re throwin’ it back to the 1960’s. Are you ready for this week’s time travel?

To be honest, all I can focus on right now is the music in my head. I love the great sounds of the Sixties, such as The Beach Boys, Diana Ross and the Supremes and Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. Thank the heavens above for the great music of the decade because it definitely was an unsettled time for our country.

Today, we’re focusing on the year our “food scrapbook” was published…1963. I’m sure the assassination our nation’s 35th President, John F. Kennedy came to mind immediately. This tragic loss forever changed our country. Now, let’s look at some additional information and happenings of 1963…

  • New home- $12,650.00
  • Yearly income- $5807.00
  • New car- $3233.00
  • Gallon of gas $0.29
  • Loaf of bread $0.22

I’m sure you love these prices just as much as I do! Let’s check out some of the happenings and pop culture of the year…

  • President John F. Kennedy was assassinated on Friday, November 22nd in Dallas,Texas.
  • Martin Luther King delivered his I Have a Dream speech.
  • Studebaker went out of business and ended production.
  • Alcatraz, the federal penitentiary known as “The Rock” closed.
  • The first state lottery began in New Hampshire.
  • The Beatles released the pop hit,  I Want To Hold Your Hand.
  • AT&T introduced the touch tone phone.
  • Zip codes were implemented in the United States.
  • Popular movies were Cleopatra, The Longest Day and To Kill a Mockingbird.
  • Popular television programs were The Andy Griffith Show, The Flintstones and The Avengers.

There sure were a lot of memorable events and happenings from 1963. Now onto our “scrapbook”…

Most everyone knows how much I LOVE baking, so while taking a stroll through this book, I just had to pick a recipe to try.  😊 I am so glad I did!  I made the Old-Fashioned Sour Cream Cookies and they were delicious!  The recipe is in the following “picture gallery”. 🙂

Here we go…IMG_5042IMG_5043

COOKIES, COOKIES, COOKIES!!
COOKIES, COOKIES, COOKIES!!
Great information for beginners.
Great information for beginners.

IMG_5045IMG_5049IMG_5050

Yummy works of art :)
Yummy works of art 🙂
Cereal cookies!!
Cereal cookies!!
The cookies in the jar on the top shelf are the ones I made.
The cookies in the jar on the top shelf are the ones I made.
Here's the recipe.  I substituted unsalted butter for the shortening.
Here’s the recipe. I substituted unsalted butter for the shortening.

IMG_5055

I am in love with the tiered cookie jar!
I am in love with the tiered cookie jar!
Recipes for making cookies for large crowds.
Recipes for making cookies for large crowds.
The End :)
The End 🙂

I hope you enjoyed our trip back to 1963…Thanks for riding along!

Here’s another picture of the cookies made from the recipe above…IMG_5035

Enjoy ❤

Leave a Reply

