Cheesy Pasta Bake

IMG_4884Hi there friends!  We’re already to the middle of the week and it feels like it just started.  I love weeks like this, don’t you?

Since we’re at the middle of a week following a busy three-day holiday weekend, I thought I would share a quick and easy, yummy casserole.  I’ve eaten this casserole for as long as I can remember.  My mom used to make it during the cooler months.

Being the rebel that I am, I make it all year, even here in the desert.  Hey…if I never made anything warm because of the warm weather, we wouldn’t have much of a variety in our menu.  And that would be seriously boring!

When I first started making this dish years ago, I used regular white pasta.  For the last few years, though, I’ve used whole grain pasta.  It’s a great way to introduce whole grain pasta to those that are less inclined to try it otherwise. 😉

This is one of those dinners that is definitely comfort food, just like any other casserole.  It goes well with a salad and garlic bread or homemade garlic-cheddar biscuits.  The leftovers are fabulous as well! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 regular-sized box whole grain pasta (elbow, penne and rotini work well)
  • 1 lb bulk spicy pork sausage (if using sauce already containing meat, disregard)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 quarts spaghetti sauce (homemade or store-bought)
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Cook and drain pasta according to directions on package.
  • While cooking pasta, brown sausage and onion, drain excess grease.
  • Combine pasta, meat, sauce and 1/2 to 3/4 cup of the cheese in a three-quart casserole dish.  Sprinkle remaining cheese on top.
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes.IMG_4883

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

