Whole Wheat Applesauce Brownies

IMG_5028Hi there everyone!  It’s Transformation Tuesday.

I’m here to start the short work week with a recipe that transforms a couple healthy ingredients into something decadent and yummy.  The two ingredients I’m talking about are whole wheat flour and applesauce.

I bet you may be wondering if brownies containing these ingredients can still taste good.  Well, I’m here to tell you…They sure can!! 🙂  I was pleasantly surprised in two ways.

The first way I was surprised was that the brownies still tasted like “real” brownies.  I was afraid that they would taste “healthy”.  I love to eat healthy foods, but I sure don’t want my brownies to taste healthy. 🙂  And I sure didn’t want them to taste healthy to my picky-eating boys.  They had no clue that these were a little healthier for them than regular brownies!  This momma always tries to sneak healthy ingredients into their food anytime she can. 😉

Secondly, I was concerned about the texture of the brownies.  I was afraid that they would be thick and dense due to the whole wheat flour.  Actually, it was quite the opposite.  They came out like cake-like brownies.  I’ll be honest…I have never liked cake-like brownies, so when they came out of the oven, I was prepared to adjust the recipe for the next time.  Until…I tried them.  There will be no adjustments made by me!  I am a convert; I loved these cake-like brownies!

The recipe below is a double-recipe.  It makes a 9×13 pan of brownies (it doesn’t pay to make anything less in my house).  You can halve the recipe for a 9×9 pan if you like.  Here you go…IMG_5019

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease 9×13 pan.
  • Melt the butter and chocolate over low heat..
  • Whisk in the sugar, eggs, applesauce and vanilla and mix well.
  • Stir in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt until just combined.IMG_5015
  • Pour the batter into pan and bake for 30-35 minutes.IMG_5016
  • Let cool before cutting.IMG_5027

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

