Throwback To 1971

IMG_4914Well, it’s Thursday again and we’re throwin’ it back to 1971 this week.  Last week, we went back to 1956, so we haven’t traveled as far back this week.  But for those of you that don’t care for “doing math” in your head, 1971 was 44 years ago.

How did I do that math so quick?  Well, I’ve always been a math whiz, but to be honest, it was easy.  I was born in 1971, so I can’t help but know the answer.  Now that I’ve completely dated myself (even though I don’t feel my age), let’s get on with 1971!

The “food scrapbook” I’m sharing today is from 1971.  I’ve definitely used this book over the years to help find ways to stay within a tight food budget.  I’ll share my favorite recipe from the book along with pictures after I give you some “1971 info”…

  • New home- $25,250.00
  • Monthly rent- $150.00
  • Yearly income- $10,600.00
  • Gallon of gas- $0.40
  • Movie ticket- $1.50
  • Side-by-side refrigerator- $704.95
  • Malibu Barbie- $1.94

Wow!  The only way to get a movie for $1.50 now is to “Red Box” it!  Here’s some of what happened in 1971…

  • The voting age was lowered to 18 years of age with the ratification of the 26th Amendment to the United States Constitution.
  • Walt Disney World in Florida opened.
  • Cigarette advertising on television ended.
  • The New York Times began publishing sections of the Pentagon Papers.
  • Popular television programs were The Odd Couple, The Mary Tyler Moore Show and The Partridge Family.
  • Popular films were Love Story, The Aristocats, and The French Connection.

Now, for my favorite recipe from the book.  It’s called Turkey Vegetable Bake.  I’ve used this recipe for many years for my leftover Thanksgiving turkey.  It’s yummy!  The mix of cheese and breadcrumbs on the top is sooo gooood!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons margarine or butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup turkey or chicken broth
  • 2 cups leftover turkey (chicken works as well)
  • 1 (10 ounce) package frozen mixed vegetables, cooked
  • 3/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs

Directions: (as printed in the book)

  • Melt margarine; blend in flour.  Add broth; cook and stir till thickened and bubbly.  Remove from heat; stir in turkey, vegetables and 1/2 cup of the cheese.  Turn into a 1-quart casserole.  Combine crumbs and remaining cheese; sprinkle over casserole.  Bake at 350 degrees till heated through, 30-35 minutes.  Makes 4 or 5 servings.

This recipe, while being very frugal, is definitely great comfort food.  It’s very simple to double the recipe and the leftovers are great!

Some pictures from the book…

Look at those beautifully roasted chickens!
Look at those beautifully roasted chickens!
Every chapter and section focuses on saving money on your food budget.
Every chapter and section focuses on saving money on your food budget.
An entire chapter with budget saving menus including desserts.
An entire chapter with budget saving menus including desserts.
There are
There are “economy tips” all throughout the book.
Look at those yummy baked beans...I'll have to share my recipe soon!
Look at those yummy baked beans…I’ll have to share my recipe soon!
IMG_4923
I love that lunchbox!

IMG_4925IMG_4927

This section helps you plan your meals and shopping for them.
This section helps you plan your meals and shopping for them.

I just love going through these old cookbooks!  But time for us to get back to 2015…when we just go to the internet or Pinterest for a recipe or tips.  I hope you enjoyed your time travel to 1971! ❤

Leave a Reply

