Hmmm…Hummus

IMG_4902Hello there friends!  I just got done scrolling through, reading and enjoying everyone’s posts.  Thank you all for sharing such great posts.  I look forward to seeing your beautiful pictures and learning new information everyday!  You all are an inspiration to this blogging novice. 🙂

Today I’m sharing a recipe for hummus.  I decided to try hummus a few years ago after hearing that it was a pretty healthy dip for crackers, veggies and such.  The type I tried was a store-purchased hummus.  I liked it, although I thought it was quite bland.  I’m a girl that loves food very spicy and full of flavor, so while I liked it, I didn’t get “hooked”.

…Until one day when I found a recipe for homemade hummus while looking through one of my cookbooks.  Smack!  It hit me right, square in  my forehead…I could make the plain hummus as listed in the book and then add my own spin on it.  By my own spin, I mean spice and flavor. 🙂  It was worth a try, for sure.

I know it sounds quite elementary…I usually do try making something myself if I like what I’ve tried, so what was stopping me from trying this sooner?  Well, two things…my lack of knowledge of what hummus was actually made from and lack of time to dig deeper into it (I was working full-time back then).

When I found out that it’s basically just pureed garbanzo beans (aka chickpeas), I knew it would be easy…and healthy.  This would be awesome; I would be able to achieve the holy trinity of food…easy, healthy and yummy!

With all the unhealthy-yummy foods all over the place now, I’m always on the lookout for healthy-yummy.  And garbanzo beans, just like other legumes are great for our health!  Some of their benefits are:

  • low in saturated fat and very low in cholesterol
  • high in manganese, folate and fiber
  • help decrease heart disease risk
  • help regulate blood sugar levels
  • protect against diseases including cancer

Those are some pretty great benefits, right?  Studies are showing that when garbanzo beans are eaten, other unhealthy snacking diminishes as well.  That’s always a good thing!

I started with the base recipe in the book, added ingredients and changed it to my taste .  You can start with the beans and oil and go from there according to your taste or use what I used.  The ingredients with no amounts listed are just added to taste.  Feel free to get creative and make it your own. 🙂  IMG_4896

Ingredients:

  • 2 (15 ounce) cans garbanzo beans (I completely drain one of the cans and save about 1/2 of the water from the second can)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • juice from 1/2 of a lime
  • 2 jalapenos, chopped
  • 1/2 pint grape tomatoes, chopped
  • 4 green onions, sliced
  • garlic powder
  • red pepper flake
  • salt
  • pepperIMG_4898

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients and blend lightly with hand blender, regular blender or Ninja*.
  • Refrigerate and serve with crackers, pita or bagel chips, veggies or anything you desire. 🙂

*I didn’t use a hand or regular blender, use caution as to not over-blend.  I used my Ninja (a wedding gift from my wonderful Hubby).  If you are using a Ninja, it only takes a couple quick pulses.  IMG_4900

Makes about 3 1/2 cups.

Enjoy! ❤

4 thoughts on “Hmmm…Hummus

Leave a Reply

