Mom’s Scalloped Potatoes

 IMG_4868 Hi there friends!  It’s Transformation Tuesday…and I’m here to tell you how I transform plain, raw potatoes into some um-hmm comfort food.I have always loved potatoes.  All kinds of potatoes…baked, mashed, hash-browns, breakfast potatoes, roasted, french fries, wedges but I must admit that the style that defines “comfort potatoes” for me is scalloped potatoes.

It’s one of the foods that “takes me home”.  My mom’s scalloped potatoes are the absolute best, although she usually only made them at Christmas alongside the ham.  As for me (the rebel that I am), I make them any time I get a hankering for them or when my youngest daughter requests them. 🙂

While the preparation is quite easy, this side dish is best saved for a weekend or weekday when you have some extra time.  You have to wash, peel and slice the potatoes which isn’t difficult, but takes a little time and then the baking time is at least an hour.  But, it is SO worth it!!

I’ve seen the boxed variety in the store.  I even tried them once.  I was very disappointed.  I guess if you’ve never had them homemade, they may be okay.  I can tell you that once you’ve made them, you’ll never go back.

My measurements aren’t very exact, but you really can’t mess this up.  Trust me.  Just be sure to let them bake long enough.  You want the yummy browned top.

You can make as much or as little as you wish.  Hint, hint…they taste amazing as leftovers!

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium-sized russet potatoes (peeled, washed and sliced)
  • 4 tablespoons butter, cut into chunks
  • milk (Mom always used whole milk, but I have found that non-fat works just as well)
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Place potatoes in baking dish (I prefer a tall, glass, 3 quart dish).
  3. Add enough milk to reach the top of the potatoes.
  4. Place chunks of butter on top and sprinkle with salt and pepper.IMG_4864
  5. Bake for an hour.  Remove from the oven to see if they’re done.  You want a browned top, tender potatoes and thickened milk.   If they’re not done, bake for another 20-30 minutes.IMG_4867
  • Make sure to stir that brown yummy-ness into the potatoes…they’re bits of wonderful flavor.
  • If it seems as if you started with too much milk and the potatoes aren’t thickening the way you would like, don’t fret.  Just add a spoonful or two of flour, stir and bake a little longer.IMG_4868

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

