A Sundae for Your Sunday

 Happy Sunday!  I don’t know about you, but I think the weekends are a great time for a yummy dessert.  Who doesn’t love to have dessert? 🙂

This dessert is so easy and the waffles can pull double-duty.  They would be great for breakfast as well.  You could make the waffles for breakfast and use the leftovers for dessert or vice versa.

The great thing about waffles, and pancakes for that matter, is that you can make extra and freeze what you don’t use for another day.  It works great for busy weekdays…you just pop them in the toaster or microwave an you’re ready to eat.

Back to dessert!  I love waffle cones/bowls, but they can be pretty pricey to buy ready-made at the supermarket, so I thought maybe I could make them at home.

I started researching recipes online and quickly realized that there’s a waffle cone maker gadget available for home use. Yes, I guess I’ve been under a rock.  I had no idea these existed, but then I don’t really keep up with all the specialty small appliances. I don’t have the room for them in my small kitchen and my frugal brain can’t see spending money on things like that as well.

 I do have a Belgian waffle maker that a friend gave Hubby a few years ago and I do use it quite frequently.  I figured it wouldn’t really work for making waffle bowls, but what the heck?  I may as well give it a try. Well…I was right. It didn’t work. Oh well. Nothing wrong with trying. Most things usually work, so I’m bound to have something that doesn’t work sometimes.

So, I brushed myself off from my “failure” 🙂 and still really wanting a sundae with the “waffle taste”, I decided I would just make some yummy waffles and have them ala mode, sundae-style.  I started with a packaged waffle mix and dressed it up.  Now I’m back on top!  They were delicious just plain and even better sundae-style.

Just one problem…my boys have worked out a plan on how this can work for breakfast (ice cream included).  Not gonna work, but it was fun listening to their explanation, lol. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups waffle mix
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients by hand and cook in waffle maker according to waffle maker directions.

Then…this is the fun part…add your favorite sundae toppings.  I used vanilla bean ice cream, Hershey’s chocolate syrup (is there any other kind?), sliced almonds and a cherry on top.  You could use anything!IMG_4877

Enjoy! ❤

One thought on “A Sundae for Your Sunday

Leave a Reply

