Spicy Turkey-Pinto Soup

IMG_4841Hi there friends!  I hope all of you are having a great day!

I’m back with another update on my “July Turkey”.  I think this is the third update and I still have some more in the freezer.  Woohoo!  My $7.00 turkey has definitely been a budget saver!

This time, I used some of the dark meat in a soup.  I prefer the white meat, so I typically use the dark meat for soups and casseroles, where it’s not as noticeable.  It worked wonderfully because it was absolutely delicious in this simple soup.

Earlier this week, I needed a dinner that I could put together quickly and it would be ready when we were.  In other words, I needed a Crockpot dinner. 🙂 I don’t know about you, but I love using my Crockpot because it’s an easy, ready-when-you-are and yummy way to make dinner.  And it makes the house smell wonderful…who doesn’t love the smell of dinner cooking when they come through the door at the end of a long day?

This soup is very simple and has few ingredients…

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of cooked turkey (chicken would work as well)
  • 6 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 (24 ounce) can or 3 cups spaghetti sauce (I used the roasted onion and garlic flavor)
  • 1 quart pinto beans
  • 1 package taco seasoning or homemade equivalent to one package

Directions:

  • Easy peasy!!  Just combine ingredients in Crockpot and cook on low for 4-6 hours.  That’s it!IMG_4839

I served the soup with some chopped cilantro on top and toasted corn tortillas on the side.  You could use green onions, cheese, jalapenos and tomatoes as well.  IMG_4844

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

