Hot Fudge Pudding Cake

IMG_4769Hi there friends! Well, we’ve made it halfway through the week.  Two more days until the weekend.  Yay!! 😄

I’m here with a great recipe for a weekend dessert…and it’s CHOCOLATE!!  🍫 If you have any chocoholics in your family, they will love this!  I know mine do.  When my boys tried it, they promptly deemed themselves the “Chocolate Police” 🚔 and said that they needed to confiscate the rest so that it wouldn’t bring harm to anyone else.  Of course, Mom didn’t buy into their scheme, but I have to say that I love the look on their faces when they enjoy something I’ve made.

I used to make this cake quite often, but I hadn’t made it in quite awhile.  When I went to the cookbook that I thought the recipe was in, I couldn’t find it…bummer. 😔  After quite sometime searching my many cookbooks (I think I have a problem 🙍) to no avail, I went to Pinterest.  Much to my delight, I found what was very close to my old recipe.  I found it on A Family Feast at www.afamilyfeast.com/hotfudgepuddingcake.  

I made the cake and it was delicious!  It tasted just like my old recipe.  Now, watch, I’ll find my recipe when I least expect or need it! 😜

This can be served with ice cream, whipped cream or just plain, which is how we had it.  It’s yummy no matter how you have it!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups sugar divided (3/4 cup and 1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa (1/4 cup and 1/4 cup)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups hot water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9 inch baking dish.
  2. In mixer bowl, combine 3/4 cup sugar, flour, 1/4 cup cocoa, baking powder and salt.  Mix in milk, butter and vanilla until mixed well.
  3. Spread batter evenly in baking dish.IMG_4764
  4. In a small bowl, stir together remaining sugar, cocoa and brown sugar.
  5. Pour evenly over batter in baking dish…do not mix into batter.IMG_4766
  6. Heat water in microwave or on stove until very hot and pour on top of cake mixture.  Do not stir.IMG_4767
  7. Bake 40-45 minutes or until middle is almost set.IMG_4768
  8. Let cool for 15 minutes to allow the sauce on the bottom to thicken*.

*If the sauce is still a little thin upon serving, just allow it to sit for a few more minutes.  The sauce thickens more after the cake layer is cut.IMG_4770

Store leftovers (if you have any) in the fridge and reheat in the microwave.

Enjoy! ❤️

Leave a Reply

