Cherry-Coconut Cake Mix Cookies

  Hi there everyone!  I hope your weekend was great!  This was our last  weekend before school starts…dun, dun, dun.  Actually, I’m one of those lucky moms that have kids that like to go to school.  That definitely makes for more pleasant school mornings. 🌞

On Friday, we went to the river to go “weekday swimming” 🏊 one last time before school starts with Hubby’s nieces and nephews, sister and mom.  We had a great time and it sure helped cool us off from the 113 degree weather!

After I finished scrambling to get a dinner together that would have an easy prep after a day at the river,  I was trying to think of an easy, but yummy dessert that the kids would love.  Of course!! Cake Mix Cookies!  That’s my usual “go to” when I need something yummy in a hurry.

I have posted several different combinations that I have done with Cake Mix Cookies, such as the Apple Jacks Cookies and the Easiest Cookies Ever.  Since my boys hadn’t had the opportunity to try the Apple Jacks Cookies,  I knew that I wanted to make those, but since they’re so quick to make, I knew I had time to make two different combinations (I think I subconsciously have a goal to see how many combinations I can make with ingredients I have on hand at home 😄).

Honestly, if you have never made these, they are just about as quick as the store-bought dough and they actually taste like something.  It takes less than 5 minutes to gather and mix the ingredients and about 8 minutes in the oven.  You do want to make sure to let them cool for a bit so that they can “set”, but you still have a batch of delicious cookies in under 30 minutes.

I had a cherry chip cake mix in the “pantry overflow” and an “almost full” jar of maraschino cherries in the fridge, so I thought I would mix up the ingredients and put a cherry on top of each one.  Well, as I was mixing, I remembered that I had a package of coconut in the pantry.  Hmmm…I love cherries 🍒 and coconut together…so there I had it!  My newest combination…Cherry-Coconut.

What may the next flavor be?  Well, my oldest son has an idea he would like me to try, so I’ll work on that combination next time and post the recipe once I have it ready.

Happy baking!! 🍪🍪

Ingredients:

  • 1 box cherry chip cake mix
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups sweetened, flaked coconut
  • 12 maraschino cherries, cut in half

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Mix cake mix, canola oil and eggs in bowl by hand.
  3. Add coconut and stir to mix.
  4. Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheet and place half of a cherry on the middle of each cookie.
  5. Bake for 8-10 minutes until they look “just done”.
  6. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before removing.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

 Enjoy ❤️

Leave a Reply

