Potato & Chorizo Tacos

Hi there friends!  Well, we’re at the beginning of a new week.  Hope you all had a great weekend!  My boys arrived home safely on Saturday, so it’s not so quiet in the house anymore… THANK GOODNESS!!  I’m so happy to see those handsome faces again every morning. 👦👦

I’m back today with a recipe that I love to make on the weekend.  It’s so easy, takes very few ingredients and is absolutely full of flavor and delicious.  Did I mention that it is VERY inexpensive to make as well?

I start out by making this for breakfast, but I’ve been known to eat the leftovers for lunch and dinner, which is nothing new for me.  My kids have always loved to have breakfast for dinner.  In fact, for quite some time, my daughters thought that biscuits and gravy was a dinner dish.  Who knew? 😄

In the picture of ingredients, you will notice that the chorizo is beef chorizo.  I typically purchase soy chorizo, but the supermarket was out, so I had to settle for beef.  I am in no way close to being vegetarian, but I do love the soy chorizo!  It doesn’t cook up as greasy as the beef or pork, but still has the same great, spicy flavor.

Another great benefit to this recipe is that it stores and reheats wonderfully.  I’ll pull some out of the fridge a couple days later, warm it up in a nonstick skillet and add some scrambled eggs for hubby’s breakfast before work.  Yes, the eggs can be added from the start…I just don’t care for eggs, so I add them for hubby for the second “go around”.  Adding eggs makes this dish go even further very inexpensively.  Hint, hint…you can add some pinto beans as well.  Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium russet potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • salt and pepper
  • 9 ounce tube of chorizo (go ahead, give the soy a chance) 😉
  • corn tortillas

Directions:

  1. Wash and chop potatoes.  While chopping potatoes warm nonstick skillet (make sure it has a lid) on medium-low heat.  
  2. Add butter to skillet and melt.  After melted, add potatoes and salt and pepper to season.  Cover and let cook till just tender, stirring occasionally.
  3. Once potatoes are cooked, add chorizo and stir together.  If using soy chorizo, you may need to add a small amount of water to the mixture (basically replacing the grease that you would have with the beef or pork).  
  4. Let simmer for 5-10 minutes and serve on warmed or toasted tortillas.  

Makes about a dozen tacos. 

 
Enjoy! ❤️

Leave a Reply

