Honey Nut Stacks of Snacks

 Hi there friends!  We’ve made it to the weekend. 😃  Yay!!  I have a recipe to share that would be great to make for or with the kids over the weekend.  And it all starts with something that most of us have in our pantry at all times, cereal.  Some of us maybe more than others…

Let me give you some background…I am a cereal hoarder.  Why do I classify myself as a cereal hoarder?  Well, at any given time, I have 15-20 boxes of cereal in my “back-up” pantry (a.k.a., my coat closet).

 How does this happen?  Well, I’m a coupon-clipping and sale-shopping girl.  As many of you know, there are great cereal coupons online, all the time, and my supermarket puts cereal on sale quite regularly. I never pay over $1.50 for a box of cereal…I simply refuse. 😉

The irony is that we aren’t a big breakfast cereal eating family.  My oldest son is the only one that eats cereal for breakfast on a somewhat regular basis.  I’m sure you’re wondering what in the world I do with all that cereal. Well…several things…it is a great lunchbox snack for school, afterschool snack and a great starter for desserts and goodies, such as the one I’m sharing here.

As the result of a great sale and coupons, I recently became the owner of quite a few boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios, so I thought I would try to find something creative to make with them.

 I came across a “Cheerios” cookbook that I purchased about ten years ago and found this recipe. I had my doubts about how the bars would turn out, but I was pleasantly surprised when I took a bite.  Oh. My. Goodness. I think these should be required to have a “may be addictive” label on them!

In addition to their “oh my goodness” taste, they are quick and easy to make.

 Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups Honey Nut Cheerios
  • 2 cups quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a 2-3 quart saucepan, heat the brown sugar and butter until smooth, stirring constantly.
  3. Remove pan from heat and stir in remaining ingredients.
  4. Pour into ungreased 9X13 pan and spread until mixture is even.
  5. Bake 16-18 minutes or until edges are firm (center won’t be firm until cooled).
  6. Cool on wire rack for at least an hour before cutting.
  7. Store in an airtight container.  

Makes 36 bars.

Enjoy! ❤️

Leave a Reply

