Turkey Two More Times


Hi there friends!  We’re almost to the end of the week.  Two days and counting until my boys come home!  Woohoo! 😃😃😃

While I’m anxiously awaiting their return,  I’m here to share with you two more meals I’ve made with my “July Turkey”.  I absolutely love the fact that I only had to spend one afternoon roasting the turkey and get the benefit of having “already prepared” meat for so many meals.  It’s a real time saver and helps make a number of dinners that are quick and easy, but still very yummy.

The first meal I made with this round of turkey meat was Turkey Enchiladas.  This is one of the meals that I make every time I have turkey meat.  You could always make an enchilada casserole if you don’t want to spend the time making individual enchiladas, but I’ve never noticed that it takes all that much longer to make individual enchiladas.  Typically I’ll make some refried beans or Mexican rice to put on the side.

This is one of the many dishes that I make that I don’t measure the ingredients so the amounts are an estimation of what I use.  I’m experimenting with a homemade enchilada sauce, but haven’t perfected it yet.  I’ll update when I have it just the way I want it.  Have fun with your enchiladas and make them your own! 😉

Ingredients:

  • 1 dozen corn tortillas
  • 3 cups cooked turkey
  • handful of raw spinach, chopped
  • 2 cups or more 😉😉 shredded cheese (extra sharp cheddar or pepper jack is what I typically use)
  • enchilada sauce (I use a large can and freeze what I don’t use)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Pour enough enchilada sauce to cover the bottom of a 13X9 baking dish (I prefer to use glass).
  3. Put some turkey, spinach and a sprinkle of cheese on a tortilla, roll and place in dish.  Repeat until all 12 enchiladas are rolled. 
  4. Pour sauce over enchiladas and sprinkle some spinach and cheese on top. 
  5. Bake for 30-40 minutes. 

Makes one dozen (the picture only shows eight and using a smaller dish because I made a smaller batch this time). Top with anything you choose.  My faves are chopped grape tomatoes, cilantro, jalapenos and green onions…hubby loves to douse with sour cream.

 That’s it for meal #1, now for meal #2…Turkey Tacos.  This was a lunch that was easier than a peanut butter sandwich (although that is my favorite lunch).  I just warmed a little turkey meat in the microwave, toasted some corn tortillas and topped with the leftover toppings from the enchiladas.  Easy peasy!

 And guess what?  I still have two baggies of frozen turkey left in the freezer for two more “creations”  I’ll be back to update. 😊

Enjoy! ❤️

Leave a Reply

