Peanut Pork on Rice Noodles

  Happy August!  It’s hard to believe that the first weekend of August is almost over.  I’m here to share a recipe that’s great for a weekend or a weekday when you have some extra time.  It has Asian components but I’m not sure if it would be classified as Chinese, Thai or maybe even something different.  I just know that I love the combination of flavors.

I remember very well trying Chinese once as a child and making an incorrect judgement of all Asian cuisine based on one try of some canned chow mein.  I’m sure you all know the stuff I’m talking about…the stuff that came from the can with tasteless meat and mushy vegetables.  Eeessshhh! 😁 In my defense, I was born and raised in a small town in Pennsylvania in the early seventies and that was the extent of our exposure to Asian food at the time.

Fortunately for me, after moving to Southern California as a young adult, I had a great friend that questioned my dislike for Asian food.  She couldn’t grasp my dislike for the cuisine given my love of lean meats, veggies and SPICE.  She encouraged me to give it another try and I’ve been grateful for her tenacity ever since! 😊

These days, I have to make most of the Asian food we eat at home for the simple fact that we don’t have a lot to choose from in the small town where we live.  It’s actually a good thing.  I save a lot of money by preparing it at home and I know exactly what’s going into what I’m making.  It’s a great way to clean out the fridge as well. 😉

I use the same ingredients for the dressing/marinade every time, but the rest of  the ingredients are based on what I have on hand at the time.  For example, I usually use chicken, but this time, I had some thin cut pork chops that I needed to use.  I’ve also served this over brown rice or a salad as well.  I’ve also used all kinds of different veggies.  I usually use water chestnuts but I didn’t have a can this time.  Basically, it can be a “modge podge” of ingredients and it will work.  Be creative and adjust it to your taste.

Dressing/Marinade Ingredients and Directions:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup red pepper seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I prefer crunchy)
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until combined. 

 “Stir Fry” Ingredients:

  • 1 pound thin cut pork chops
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 bunch green onions
  • 1 large red bell pepper
  • 1/3 bunch cilantro
  • 1 tangerine
  • 1 cup edamame
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Place pork chops in baking dish with 1/2 (about 1 cup) dressing and place in 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes.  I’ve browned them in the skillet as well; they just seem to stay more tender when they’re done in the oven.  
  2. While the pork chops are baking, chop green onions, red bell pepper and cilantro.  Peel and separate tangerine.  
  3. Heat olive oil in large skillet and add green onions, red bell pepper, cilantro, tangerine and edamame.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  
  4. Cook until crisp-tender (the tangerine will most likely “cook away”, but it will leave it’s flavor).
  5. After pork chops come out of oven, cut into bite-sized pieces.  Add the pork and remaining cup of dressing to the veggies and simmer for 5-10 minutes.  

*For serving on rice noodles, check package for cooking directions.  Most just soak in boiled water removed from the stove for a few minutes until tender. 

 Serve on noodles, rice or salad.  Hey!  It would probably work great in a wrap as well!  Think I may have to give it a try. 😃 

 Enjoy! ❤️

Leave a Reply

