Thanksgiving in July?

  Christmas…oops…Thanksgiving in July?  Maybe not.  But it sure smells like Thanksgiving in our house today!  If there was such a thing as “Smell-A-Blog”, I would send it your way. 👃

I know it seems a little odd…roasting a turkey in July…who does that?  ME!  “Why?”, you ask.  Because I absolutely love turkey!  It’s delicious, healthy and one of the most inexpensive meats to eat, provided you purchase at the opportune time.

Yep.  Your thinking is correct.  Thanksgiving is the best time to purchase turkeys.  All of the supermarkets in our area run great deals on turkeys the two to three weeks before Thanksgiving.  This gives me the opportunity to purchase two turkeys. One for Thanksgiving dinner and one for my “July Bird”.  As a result of buying at the right time, my twenty-one pound turkey came out to about thirty-three cents a pound. Woohoo!! 👍 

 The wonderful benefit of purchasing a frozen turkey is that you are able to store it for quite some time in your freezer, but you definitely want to consume it before the next Thanksgiving for optimum taste.

 You may be visualizing  a large, traditional turkey dinner in July and thinking that it’s not for you.  Well, with our temps to be in the 110’s this week, I’m not visualizing that either!  😐 I’m sure not up for that heavy dinner.

That’s the great thing about turkey!  It’s so versatile.  You can use it in salads, tacos, wraps, grinders, enchiladas and the list goes on and on…  Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing some of the different recipes I make with my “July Bird”.

Do you share my love of having turkey at any time of the year? 

❤️

Leave a Reply

