Black Bean – Quinoa Burgers

  Hi there!  It’s Wednesday evening…we’re on the downhill slide to the weekend.  Yay!  I’m so excited for the weekend to get here because Hubby has the entire weekend off from work.  Woohoo! 😃😃😃

I’m not sure what food I’ll be “whipping” up over the weekend, but I did want to share a recipe that I made this past weekend.  I love cooking over the weekend because I have the time to slow down and not rush.  This means I can take my time and not worry if something takes longer than I thought it would, which happens sometimes.

I have posted a lot of baking recipes, but I love to cook as well.  Friends and acquaintances have asked me throughout the years if I’m a cook or a baker.  I never really thought that I had to choose between the two…I wouldn’t be able to. I love to do both.  

This recipe has me wearing the “cook” hat.  I am always working on new ideas for our everyday foods.  One of the things that my family loves is homemade burgers.  We usually make turkey burgers and sometimes beef burgers if ground beef is on sale for less than ground turkey.  Of course, my guys always grill the burgers outside. How else would you make them? 🍔

Well…these burgers go in the oven.  I am definitely a grilled burger girl, but I am so excited that I have a burger that I can have ready for everyone when they get home for lunch or dinner.

In addition to the health benefits, there are a couple more advantages to these burgers. First, they reheat wonderfully in the microwave.  We’re all about leftovers in our home.  Second, you can make as many patties as you would like and refrigerate the rest of the mix for several days and make them as you want them.  I’m sure you could freeze the mixture as well.

Did I mention how awesomely delicious the house smells when you bake them?  Oh my goodness…I had a hard time waiting for them to come out of the oven!

For those that are used to meat burgers…don’t knock it, till you try it…😉

Ingredients:

  • 1 (30 oz) can of black beans drained, rinsed and dried
  • 1 cup cooked and cooled quinoa (I put some garlic in the quinoa while it was cooking)
  • 1-2 minced jalapenos
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic granules
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons cumin
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 teaspoons buffalo sauce
  • 2 tablespoons milled flax seed mixed with 6 tablespoons water (let sit in the fridge for about 15 minutes before using)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line your baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In large mixing bowl, mash the black beans with a potato masher until thick and smooth.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well.  
  4. Form into patties and place on baking sheet.  
  5. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping burgers once halfway through baking time.

Makes about 8 burgers.  

 There are many ways to serve these.  I used some onion rolls that I purchased inexpensively from the “day old” rack , topped with pickles, salad mix and cilantro lime dressing.  Yum!

Enjoy! ❤️

2 thoughts on “Black Bean – Quinoa Burgers

Leave a Reply

